MatthewPR

Rust repair estimate

139 posts in this topic

Hello everybody

I'm new here, this is my first time posting, so I apologize in advance if I've screwed something up.

I have a little rust damage on my car. I want to know how easy this kind of rust is to repair. 

The first two links are of the door, just different views.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1GvLunh5EuaGr7LiKj2Mm1AdORSA02C5b

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-aW32v-NqfLl7cYTF8Y105uKs59kDITY

The next two are different areas.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1rWqt-pr-KdNJ4ekOHH42GPvPKzRtMB6j

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1R8SEq26WMJUbW9DuNfdyUDYXfTpXICcX

Also, I'm hopefully going to have the repair done at a technical high school and I might be mistaken, but I'm pretty sure they don't charge labor, just the price of the materials.

Thank you all and I hope to have some good input soon.

Welcome. Would you be able to provide us your location?

I don't know for sure, but from what I can see....it doesn't look too severe. 

The materials for one of those jobs can range from $50 to $75, and labor could cost an extra $60 to $100.

Major repairs can be identified by rust spots that are larger than 12 inches in diameter.

Now, If the rust is located deep into the rocker panels, it will be a lot more costly. 

A professional rocker panel replacement from a body repair shop can run anywhere from $1,000 to $4,000 or more.

Part of the reason is the additional work required for neat, clean installations, such as the removal of car doors.

Edited by Nate4x4

From what it looks like, the rust is not deep in the rocker panels. I highly doubt that they would need to be replaced. 

Say they did need to be replaced. How difficult would you say that would be to do on your own? Not a neat job, but just one that replaces the panels and paints them the same color of the rest of the car.

5 minutes ago, MatthewPR said: