Sign in to follow this  
Newguyhere

First Car

16 posts in this topic

Hey guys, First time on the forums here.

Anyway, I have had my license for about a year now and I've been practicing with my mom's car for the last 1.5 years. (2012 BMW 5 series).

I am a capable driver, not really reckless, but I am still new. Anyway it has came up with my parents that it's time for my first car. Since I am going to be driving a lot (school is 10 miles away) and have an active lifestyle, I need a reliable car that will be easy to take out all the time. My parents proposed that a new modern car is best because they just feel that used cars aren't good. I tried to convince them otherwise because it's cheaper, but they said safety/brand new is the way to go. I know a few of you guys are gonna flame me for being "spoiled" or "a bad driver" and get jealous, but try to be helpful. Otherwise, they set a price of about $20-30k.

What I am looking for a stylish, small car with some decent numbers. Sedan or hatchback is preferred. I've been looking at a few cars like the VW GTI, Jetta, Audi A4 (a bit expensive) Kia Optima, Mazda 6, Ford fusion, Mazda CX-5 (suv exception), Acura ILX.

Once again, I am not a car genius so please bare with me. By the way, I live in LA if that matters, (mostly travel on highways)

My parents wanted to buy me a $20,000 Volvo when I first started driving, so believe me when I say I know the position you are in right now. The only advice I can offer is this, get a used car no matter what you do. The first years of driving, you want to be driving something slow/reliable/doesn't matter if you get banged up. You never learn to appreciate car control, enjoying a car as a transportation device, etc. if you get a new car and are worried to take it out when it rains even.